Florida Class D Security Officer Licensing Course

COVID-19 Update

UPDATED 09 March 2021 – As of March 15, 2021, S2 will resume conducting Class D security officer licensing programs in our Tampa classroom. Classes will be conducted using COVID-19 safety measures as described further on this page. As an alternative, students may also participate in live Class D courses conducted remotely through our partner, Security Training Group (STG).

The State of Florida requires a total of 40-hours of instruction to obtain a FL Class D security officer license. At the S2 Institute, we offer the 40-hours of Class D security officer training over a 4-day period in the classroom. The program runs Monday through Thursday every week and includes all information required by the State of Florida for initial Class D security officer license applicants.

In addition to lesson instruction, every student is guided through the State application process in a step-by-step manner to ensure that the license application is complete and filled out correctly.

Students passing the final exam are provided proof of completion necessary for submission to the State when they apply for the Class D license. To assist in the application process students may purchase support services (e.g., photo, fingerprints, etc.) as required for application submission to the State. Please see details below.

Florida Class D Security Officer Course Topics

Florida State Statutes Section 493 • Legal Issues and Liabilities • Basic First Aid • Fire Suppression • Emergency Procedures • Crime & Accident Prevention • Professional Communication • Terrorism Awareness • Ethics and Professional Conduct • Patrol Techniques • Observation Techniques & Report Writing • Interview Techniques and other required topics.

Class D Security Officer Licensing Requirements

According to the State of Florida, applicants for security licenses must be at least 18 years of age, have no disqualifying criminal history, and be legally allowed to work in the United States.

Note to Prior License Holders:
Any individual whose Florida Class D security officer license is expired for one-year of longer is considered, upon applying for a new license, an initial applicant and must submit proof of 40 hours of professional training at a facility licensed by the Division of Licensing. Depending on the circumstances, training previously taken may be acceptable. Please contact S2 to discuss your situation.

Course Details

Presentation Time
40-Hrs/4 Days (Mon-Thurs / 8:00am to 6:30pm)

Security Officer/Guard Applicants

Upcoming Class Dates

Tampa Classroom Programs

Choose a class from the following options.

IMPORTANT NOTE: All students attending the live Tampa classroom program are required to comply with COVID-19 safety measures as described at the end of this page. If you are unable to comply with our safety policy or wish to participate in an online program, please use the button below.

COVID-19 Safety Policies

To maximize the safety of all participants, all students entering S2’s classroom facilities will be required to wear a face mask covering the nose and mouth at all times while indoors. In the event a student cannot wear a face mask at all times or has any other concern with in-class instruction, we encourage you to register for the online Class D course. There will be no exceptions to the mandatory mask policy. Masks will not be made available, so please ensure you bring enough daily as needed. Anyone refusing to wear a mask may be asked to leave without a course refund.

Students will not be allowed to eat lunch or have breaks within the classroom and will be instructed to break outside while maintaining social distancing and eating lunch offsite.

Students are encouraged to practice proper hand hygiene and wash hands regularly during breaks.

Students that are ill, have a fever, or any related symptoms are not permitted to attend in-class instruction.

Students are to social distance to the extent possible.

Student Testimonials